My dad is almost 55. But he decided to go to school again and finish college! And by golly he is taking up Industrial Education (Major in Electronics)! A teacher! Ahihihihi!

In our living room, like any other Filipino family, we have our graduation pictures proudly hanging there in line. From mom who has hers from college, me and my siblings from elementary to college. And my dad….he has one too! But I think it is from a seminar or a recognition for his 20++ years of service in the company. I was joking mom that we should ask dad to pose for a graduation picture complete with toga and all just to belong! Sorry dad! Hihihi! My parents got married so young, 18-19 only! All these years dad worked so hard to provide us the best in this world! And no diploma is needed to certify that!

It’s a good thing that his company supports continuous learning and came up with this project! You gave my dad another chance to fulfill what was not an option for him when we were growing up! Thaaankkss!

Before that his interests are smoking, drinking, and karera ng kabayo (horse racing)!

He attends class every Tuesdays. Mom said she has now 3 students in the house. Dad now included will also ask her to review and answer some of his assignments, ask money to buy books, bags, and other school stuffs! Made her crazier!

Dad’s challenge is not only being a student…studying, researching, exams, but catching up with technology! Internet that is. This is where we (myself and IT bro) come in.

He had this assignment to summarize a book…life story of Rizal… Of course he doesn’t enjoy typing… his working hands are no longer in favor of it. He maybe thought there must be something out there to help him on this one…and aha! He bought a scanner that can convert images to searchable PDF files! Very good idea! But! He still needs help on how to actually scan…uh oh… I gave him a tutorial..even wrote down the steps for him… One day he called me in the office…

Dad: Turuan mo nga ulit akong mag-scan
Me: Sundin mo lang ung steps na sinulat ko
Dad: Hindi ko makita eh..
Me:
 (Busy at work but how can I resist his eagerness to learn and finish his assignment!) O cge ganito….(step by step on the phone)….
Dad: O asan napunta ung n-scan ko?!
Me: Sa directory kung san mo nilagay nung ng save ka..
Dad: Anong directory??
Me: O sige try mo na lang search ung filename…
Dad: Anong filename??
Me: (Grrr! I can’t burst it out) Sige turuan kita ulit mamaya mg-scan, kailangan mo na ba yang ini-scan mo?
Dad: Ah ung ano to…Dividendazo ko para sa karera
Me: @#^%$*&&%&$^@

I can only think of the days when he was teaching me tricks on how to memorize the multiplication table….

I will always have the patience for my dad….

